Gambhir - Dhoni guides to India lift the 2011 world cup

The 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup final ODI match played between Sri Lanka and India at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai in 02nd April 2011.

Gautam Gambhir and MS Dhoni led to Incredible India lift the second World Cup by 6-wickets victory over Sri Lanka at Mumbai in the 2011 World Cup final.

The culmination of the tenth edition of the World Cup, it was the first time that these two asia teams had met each other at this stage in the tournament history.

India won the match by six wickets—its second World Cup win after the 1983 tournament—and became the third team to have won the title more than once.

After Australia (1987, 1999, 2003 and 2007) and the West Indies (1975 and 1979).

ICC Cricket World Cup Final 2011 Highlights - India vs Sri Lanka
Third Party Reference Image from BCCI

Both teams had progressed through three stages to reach the final.

India had won all the matches to that point except for the game against South Africa and against England, which ended in a tie. Sri Lanka had won all but one match against Pakistan.

The Sri Lanka captain Kumar Sangakkara chose to bat first after winning the toss.

The team scored slowly until the 17th over when they lost both their openers. Sangakkara added 62 runs with Mahela Jayawardene before being dismissed for 48 runs. Although wickets kept falling at one end.

Mahela Jayawardene was involved in a partnership of 66 runs with Thisara Perera. The pair took Sri Lanka made a strong score of 274 for 6 wickets in the 50-over match of the Cricket World Cup.

Thanks to the magnificent century of Mahela Jayawardene (103 not out). Yuvraj Singh and Zaheer khan both took two wickets while Harbhajan Singh got one wicket for India.

In reply, India lost their opener Virender Sehwag in the second ball of the innings.

Sachin Tendulkar, too, got out in quick succession. Gautam Gambhir and Virat Kohli going ahead without any problems.

Sri Lankan captain Kumar Sangakkara once again saw Tilakeratne Dilshan, Kohli put on a magnificent charioteer in the third ball of Dilshan, but he was caught by him on the next ball. Kohli (35), together with Gambhir, scored 83 runs for the third wicket in 93 balls. With this, India's score was 114/3.

India captain MS Dhoni, promoting himself up the order. MS Dhoni slow start innings but after catching up his form, adding 50 runs for 60 balls for the fourth wicket. With Gautam Gambhir.

While chasing Dhoni completed his maiden half-century in the World Cup off 52 balls with four fours.

Dhoni and Gambhir kept pace with the century partnership on 106 balls - both keeping the Indian team's hopes alive.

Gautam Gambhir reaching nearly hundred but unfortunately he was bowled out by Thisara Perere.

Gambhir played a magnificent innings of 97 runs with 9 fours in 122 balls. With the dismissal of Gambhir, the match went back to exciting situation at this stage India's score was 223/4.

Yuvraj Singh, along with Dhoni, played an important role in chasing, both adding an unbeaten 54 runs.

MS Dhoni dominating Sri Lankan best fastest bowler of Lasith Malinga - who was lost the line - length to bowling against MS Dhoni.

India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni scored an unbeaten 91 with in style of match winning six helped to India chasing 277 runs in 48.2 overs

And India winning by six wickets and taking the World Cup after 28 years.

Dhoni has become the only captain from India who has been successful in making his One Day World Cup title along with the Twenty20 World Cup.

In the captaincy of Dhoni, Team India got number one status in the Test format of the game. With this, India hosted the World Cup title and hosted this myth.

Dhoni was declared the "man of the match" for scoring 91 runs while his compatriot Yuvraj Singh was awarded the "man of the series".

The match was watched by about 42,000 spectators at the venue and about 135 million viewers on television in India.

This was the second time in World Cup history that a host nation won the final and the first time to win on their home ground.

Copyright : Third Party Reference Inline Linking Embedded Video From BCCI



Previous Post Next Post