Sachin - Ganguly stars as India clinch the Nidahas Trophy

Watch the highlights of India vs Sri Lanka Nidahas Trophy final 1998 - Singer-Akai Nidahas Trophy triangular one day international series final ODI match played between India and Sri Lanka at Colambo in 1998 - India won by 6 runs.

The Nidahas tournament was first played in 1998 and was known as the Singer Akai Nidahas Trophy to celebrate the Golden Jubilee of Sri Lanka's independence.

The Singer-Akai Nidahas Trophy 1998 involved Sri Lanka, India and New Zealand with three round-robin matches with Sri Lanka and India qualifying for the finals.

India won the toss elected to bat first - India's dangerous opening fair Sachin Tendulkar and Sourav Ganguly played great Innings.

Sachin Tendulkar smashed a terrific 128 off 131 deliveries including 8 fours and 2 glorious sixes.

And Sourav Ganguly was scored a wonderful 109 off consuming 136 deliveries with 6 splendid fours and 2 tremendous sixes.

Sachin and Ganguly build the World record opening partnership of 252 runs set the tone in the final as India crushed Sri Lanka by 6 runs to lift the Nidahas Trophy.

Tendulkar and Ganguly formed a great opening pair and their storming partnership helped India to a rare victory over then World Champions Sri Lanka.

With 128 runs in the final match, the Sachin Tendulkar also crossed the 7,000-runs in one day International cricket history.

Sachin and Ganguly's Incredible batting performance to India set up the massive total of 307 for 6 in 50 overs.

While Sri Lanka chasing challenging total of 308 almost 6.5 runs an over runs required for Sri Lanka.

Sri Lanka opener Sanath Jayasuriya and Kaluwitharana good started, both added 59-runs stand for first wicket in 8.2 overs. India's fast bowler Ajit Agarkar trapped the Sri Lankan opener Jayasuriya and Kaluwitharana.

After Kaluwitharana exit, Aravinda de Silva responded with awesome 105 off 94 deliveries including 10 tremendous fours.

Aravinda de Silva, Marwan Atapattu, Arjuna Ranatunga and Roshan Nahanama failed to chase huge total - Sri Lanka all out for 301 in the 49.3 over.

Ajit Agarkar brilliant bowling spell to claimed four-wickets for 53-runs.

Aravinda de Silva was named the player of the series for his splendid 368 runs including an absolute masterclass century in the final which almost stole the match from India.



Previous Post Next Post