Clint McKay 5-28 - Australia vs Sri Lanka 3rd Final CB Tri-Series 2012 Highlights

Watch the highlights of Clint McKay 5-28 - Australia vs Sri Lanka 3rd Final CB Tri-Series 2012 - Commonwealth Bank triangular one-day international series best of 3-finals of the 3rd final match played between Sri Lanka and Australia at Adelaide Oval in 08th March 2012.

Clint McKay 5-28 - Australia vs Sri Lanka 3rd Final CB Tri-Series 2012 Highlights
Clint McKay claimed a five-for © AFP

All-round performance from Clint McKay and Brett Lee stars as Australia tense 16-run victory over Sri Lanka and clinch the CB Series with 2-1.

* Australia won the tri-series for the first time since their victory in 2005-06. In the previous two finals in 2006-07 and 2007-08, Australia had lost against England and India. It is also overall their 19th win in the tri-series.

* For the first time in the last four finals (when the decider was required), a team went on to win the third final and take the series after losing the second-final. In their three previous wins against South Africa (1993-94 and 1997-98) and Sri Lanka (2005-06), Australia lost the first final but went on to win the second and third.

* Clint McKay's 5 for 28 is his second five-wicket haul in ODIs and the third-best by an Australian bowler against Sri Lanka. His previous five-wicket haul also came against Sri Lanka in Brisbane in 2010.

* Clint Mckay's performance is the fifth-best in ODIs in Adelaide. It is also joint-second on the list of best bowling performances in a tournament final against Sri Lanka.

* David Warner's aggregate of 311 runs is the highest for a batsman in the finals of a tri-series tournament in Australia. He went past Greg Chappell's 266 runs in the 1981 series.

* Upul Tharanga, who went past 4500 runs in ODIs, scored his 24th half-century. In his last six innings against Australia, he has scored a hundred and two half-centuries at an average of 42.20.

Australia scored 231 for all-out in 49.3 overs with top scorer by Matthew Wade struck 49 off 74-balls including 3-fours, David Warner cracked a 48 off 45-balls included 5-fours and a six, Brett Lee scored 32, Clint McKay 28, Shane Watson, David Hussey and Daniel Christian each scored 19-runs.

Sri Lanka best bowler by Rangana Herath, Farveez Maharoof both picked up 3-wickets, Nuwan Kulasekara took two-wickets and one for Tillakaratne Dilshan.

Sri Lanka scored 215 for all-out in 48.5 overs with top scorer by Upul Tharanga struck 71 off 122-balls including 3-fours and a six, Lahiru Thirimanne scored 30, Kumar Sangakkara 19, Farveez Maharoof 18 not out, Mahela Jayawardene and Nuwan Kulasekara both scored 15-runs.

Australia best bowler by Clint McKay claims 5-28, Brett Lee picked up 3-wickets and Shane Watson took two-wickets.

Clint McKay named Player of the match for his All-round performance to claimed 5-wicket haul for 28-runs in 9.5 overs after a scored valuable 28 off 32-balls including 3-fours and a six.

Tillakaratne Dilshan earned player of the series for his sensational batting performance to contributed 513-runs including two-centuries and fifty with average of 64 in the Commonwealth Bank Triangular Series.



Previous Post Next Post