Sanath Jayasuriya 3-12 - India vs Sri Lanka 1st Semi-final Wills World Cup 1996 Highlights

Watch the highlights of Sanath Jayasuriya 3-12 - India vs Sri Lanka 1st Semi-final Wills World Cup 1996 - 1996 Wills World Cup tournament of the 1st SF played between Sri Lanka and India at Eden Gardens, Kolkata in 13th March 1996.

India fans send Sri Lanka to 1996 World Cup final after a Sri Lanka dominance of Indian batsmens in the World Cup first Semi-final at Eden Gardens.

* Sensational Sanath Jayasuriya's spin bowling attack to Indian batting line-up collapses 120 for 8 when replying Sri Lanka's 251.

* The crowd of 1,10,000 at Eden Gardens in Calcutta became engaged over Sri Lanka's dominance of Indian batsmen.

India was restricted to 120 for eight wickets when match referee Clive Lloyd stopped the contest after 34.1 overs and sent the players to the dressing rooms because of the Irat crowd.

* India's trend and defending highly on Sachin Tendulkar continued yet again as soon as the Sachin Tendulkar fell for 65 with India well poised to 98 for two, the downfall was triggered cliched as it may sound the Indian batting line-up fell like a house of cards.

The Indian lost six more wickets while adding only 22-runs on field embarrassment for India caught off the field as well crowds misbehavior towards the Sri Lankan fielders forced the match referee Clive Lloyd to award the match to Sri Lanka default winners.

Sri Lanka scored decent total of 251-8 in 50 overs with top scorer by Aravinda de Silva hammered a quick-fire 66 off 47-balls, Roshan Mahanama retired hurt for 58 off 101-balls including six-fours, Arjuna Ranatunga scored 35 off 42-balls included four boundaries, Hashan Tillakaratne scored 32 and Chaminda Vaas cracked a 23 off 16-balls with 3-fours.

India best bowler by Javagal Srinath picked up 3-wickets, Sachin Tendulkar took two-wickets and one for Venkatesh Prasad - Anil Kumble.

India scored 120-8 in 34.1 overs with top scorer by Sachin Tendulkar struck 65 off 88-balls including nine boundaries, Sanjay Manjrekar scored 25 off 48-balls with a boundary and Vinod Kambli 10 not out.

Sri Lanka best bowler by Sanath Jayasuriya picked up 3-wickets for 12-runs in 7-overs, Aravinda de Silva, Chaminda Vaas, Kumar Dharmasena and Muttiah Muralitharan each took one-wickets.

Aravinda de Silva named Player of the match for his match-saving 66-runs knocked off facing 47-balls including 14-fours.



Previous Post Next Post