Bangladesh vs Zimbabwe Only T20I 2006 Article

Cricket Articles - Bangladesh vs Zimbabwe Only T20I 2006

Read the articles of Bangladesh vs Zimbabwe Only T20I 2006 - Zimbabwe tour of Bangladesh one & only first time Twenty20 international match played between Zimbabwe and Bangladesh at Khulna in 28th November 2006.

All-round Bangladesh comprehensive 43-run victory over Zimbabwe and Bangladesh win their first ever T20I match in the only Twenty20 at Khulna.

Bangladesh scored 166 for all-out (Mashrafe Mortaza 36, Prosper Utseya 3-25) Zimbabwe scored 123 for 9 (Sean Williams 38, Abdur Razzak 3-15)

This match reported by Cricinfo Staff (Third Part Reference Article from Espncricinfo)

A comprehensive all-round effort helped Bangladesh defeat Zimbabwe by 43 runs in their inaugural Twenty20 international at Khulna. Quick runs from the top order made way for a middle-order collapse, before Mashrafe Mortaza hit a quick 36 to boost Bangladesh to 166. A disciplined bowling display then overwhelmed an inexperienced batting order, with the spinners running rings around the middle and lower order, as Zimbabwe collapsed to 123 for 9.

Prosper Utseya won the toss and elected to field, but his opening bowlers took some stick from Shahriar Nafees (25 from 17 balls) and Aftab Ahmed (28 from 18). Utseya was the most successful bowler with 3 for 25 from his four overs, and his introduction spun Zimbawbe back in the game. Bangladesh were suddenly 97 for 6 before Saqibul Hasan dug in for 26 from 27 balls, but it was Mortaza's 26-ball 36, with two sixes, that effectively made the difference.

Set 167 to win, Zimbabwe's frail top order had trouble coping with Mortaza and Shahadat Hossain, Bangladesh's new-ball pairing, and quickly slumped to 25 for 3. Hamilton Mazakadza (35 from 25 balls) and Sean Williams (38 from 40) came together to add a crucial 54-run fourth-wicket stand, but their inability to cope with Bangladesh's spin formation exposed the lower order. Mohammad Rafique, Abdur Razzak and Saqibul all cashed in as Zimbabwe lost their last five wickets for just 19.