Friday, May 15, 2020

Ajantha Mendis 6-8 - Sri Lanka vs Zimbabwe 1st Match ICC World T20 2012 Highlights

Cricket Highlights - Ajantha Mendis 6-8 - Sri Lanka vs Zimbabwe 1st Match ICC World T20 2012

Watch the highlights of Ajantha Mendis 6-8 - Sri Lanka vs Zimbabwe 1st Match ICC World T20 2012 - ICC World Twenty20 International tournament Group C of the 1st T20I match played between Zimbabwe and Sri Lanka at Hambantota in 18th September 2012.

The Mendises - Ajantha Mendis and Jeevan Mendis scripted to Sri Lanka massive 82-run victory over Zimbabwe in the one-sided game of the World Twenty20 opening Group C match.

* Ajantha Mendis' 6 for 8 was the best bowling figure in T20 internationals surpassing his own 6 for 16 against Australia in 2011. Mendis' figures are also the best ever in the World T20.

* The number of runs conceded by Ajantha Mendis (8) is the lowest ever for a Sri Lankan bowler in a completed four-over spell. He is the only Sri Lankan bowler to concede less than ten runs in a completed spell on two occasions.

* Ajantha Mendis bowled two maiden overs in his four-over spell. It is first instance of a Sri Lankan bowler bowling two maiden overs in a Twenty20 international. Shaun Tait is the only other bowler to achieve the feat in the World Twenty20 (2010).

* The margin of victory for Sri Lanka (82 runs) is joint-fourth on the list of largest wins (in terms of runs) in the World Twenty20. The highest is 172 runs for Sri Lanka against Kenya in 2007.

* Zimbabwe have now gone on to lose their last 13 matches. Their last win in Twenty20 games came against West Indies in 2010.

* The number of runs conceded by Chris Mpofu (49) is the third-highest for Zimbabwe in a Twenty20 international and the highest for them in a World Twenty20 game. Mpofu has also conceded 59 runs on two separate occasions.

Sri Lanka scored 182-4 in 20 overs with top scorer by Kumar Sangakkara blasted a 44 off 26-balls including 2-fours and a six with strike in 169.23, Jeevan Mendis cracked a unbeaten 43 off 30-balls included 4-fours & a six with strike-rate of 143.33.

Tillakaratne Dilshan hit 39 off 23-balls including five-fours and debutant Dilshan Munaweera - who scored 17 off 19-balls on his debut T20I match.

Zimbabwe best bowler by Graeme Cremer took one-wicket for 27-runs in 4-overs.

Zimbabwe scored 100 for all-out in 17.3 overs with top scorer by Hamilton Masakadza 20, Elton Chigumbura 19 and Graeme Cremer 17.

Sri Lanka best bowler by Ajantha Mendis claims 6-8, Jeevan Mendis picked up 3-wickets for 24-runs in 4-overs and Lasith Malinga took one-wicket.

Ajantha Mendis named Player of the match for record-breaking bowling figure of 6-wicket haul for 8-runs in 4-overs including two maidens.