India vs Pakistan 2nd ODI 1983 Article

Read the article of India vs Pakistan 2nd ODI 1983 - Pakistan tour of India 2-match one-day international series of the 2nd ODI match played between Pakistan and India at Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur in 02nd October 1983.

The Test Reject Sandeep Patil India's hero as hit a dazzling 51 off 28-balls after Madan Lal and Kapil Dev's combined 5-wickets helped to India comfortable four-wicket victory over Pakistan and clinch the two-match 2-0 whitewash in a low-scoring game of the second ODI.

Match Stats :
  • India registered their historic first bilateral ODI series win against Pakistan.
  • This is the India's first bilateral 2-0 series whitewash against Pakistan in ODIs.
  • Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur became the 8th Indian venue to host a One-day international match and the 51st venue in the world to host a ODI match.
  • Sandeep Patil hammered a 27-ball second fastest fifty for India in One-day international after Kapil Dev's 22-ball half-century and the third quickest fifty in ODIs.

* Indian Test reject Sandeep Patil embarrassed the selectors by hitting a dazzling 28-ball 51 steers to a comfortable four-wicket win Pakistan in the second One-day international match at Jaipur.

* The Indians, who restricted Pakistan to only 166 for 9 in their 46 overs after sending them into bat, hammered 169 for six off 40.4 overs to secure a 2-0 victory in the three-match ODI series.

* Sandeep Patil, who was voted man of the match, shared a third-wicket partnership with Sunil Gavaskar (41), which put on 57 runs in just over eighth overs.

* Sandeep Patil - He was the only batsman on either side to display a wide selection of strokes and hit seven fours and two sixes. 

* Pakistan had looked set to bake a big score when openers Mudassar Nazar and Mohsin Khan put on 55 in 20 overs But they and Javed Miandad fell in the space of five runs as Pakistan tried to accelerate, Zaheer Abbas, the captain, tried to pull the innings round with a useful 48.

Pakistan scored 166-9 in the alloted 46 overs with top scorer by Zaheer Abbas hit 48 off 59-balls - who fell one-run short of his half-century - including a boundary.

Saleem Malik hit 27 off 37-balls including 2-fours, Mudassar Nazar scored 27 off consuming 66-balls without a boundary, Mohsin Khan 22 and Wasim Raja 17.

India best bowler by Madan Lal picked up 3-wickets for 27-runs in 10-overs including a maiden, Kapil Dev took 2-wickets and one for Roger Binny.

India chased 169-6 in 40.4 overs with top scorer by Sandeep Patil hammered a 51 off 28-balls.

Sunil Gavaskar scored 41 off 82-balls including 5-four, Yashpal Sharma hit a unbeaten 23 off 33-balls included 2-fours and Kris Srikkanth 17.

Pakistan best bowler by Mohammad Nazir, Jalaluddin both took 2-wickets and one for Tahir Naqqash - Mudassar Nazar.

Sandeep Patil named Player of the match for his match-winning dazzling 51-runs knocked off facing 28-balls including 7-fours and 2-sixes with strike rate of 182.14.



Previous Post Next Post