Sri Lanka vs New Zealand 1st ODI 03rd November 1984 Article

Read the article of Sri Lanka vs New Zealand 1st ODI 1984 - New Zealand tour of Sri Lanka 2-match one-day international series of the 1st ODI match played between New Zealand and Sri Lanka at P Saravanamuttu Stadium, Colombo in 03rd November 1984.

Vinothen John's three-wicket haul before An unbeaten maiden half-century helped to Sri Lanka convincing four-wicket victory over New Zealand and take a 1-0 lead in a low-scoring game of the first ODI.

* Sri Lanka beat New Zealand by four wickets in the first one-day international at Colombo.

Jeff Crowe, withan unbeaten 57, was top scorer in New Zealand's 171-6 after 45 overs, John taking 3-37, while an unbeaten half-century by Aravinda de Silva saw Sri Lanka safely home.

Going in No. 7 he struck exactly 50 to lift Sri Lanka from 79 for lost five wickets to chased 174 for six and success with 32 balls to remaining after New Zealand scored 171 for six in their alloted quota of 45 overs.

Tight out-cricket limited the New Zealanders to a moderate total on an easy-paced pitch, only Sri Lanka to collapse against the medium pace of Chris Cairns, Ewen Chatfield and Jeremy Coney.

Sidath Wettimuny, who scored 190 in his country's creditable draw in their first-ever Test match in England last August, was snapped up by Lance Cairns for one.

And the decline was accelerated when Ewen Chatfield and Jeremy Coney captured two wickets each during a phase in which four tumbled for 36.

Roy Dias began to steady the slip before young De Silva assisted by De Mel completed the job.

New Zealand scored 171-6 in the alloted 45 overs with top scorer by Jeff Crowe cracked a unbeaten 57 off 66-balls including 5-fours & a six.

Jeremy Coney hit a run-a-ball 24-runs including one-six & a four, Martin Crowe 23 and John Reid 21.

Sri Lanka best bowler by Vinothen John picked up 3-wickets for 39-runs in 9-overs including two maidens, Arjuna Ranatunga, Ashantha de Mel and Ravi Ratnayeke each took one-wickets.

Sri Lanka chased 174-6 in 39.4 overs with top scorer by Aravinda de Silva hit a unbeaten 50 off 54-balls.

Roy Dias hit 34 off 48-balls including a boundary, Ranjan Madugale struck 31 off 38-balls included 5-fours, Debutant Amal Silva - who scored 21 off 34-balls on his debut ODI match - with 4-fours and Ashantha de Mel 15 not out.

New Zealand best bowler by Jeremy Coney, Ewen Chatfield both took 2-wickets and one for Stephen Boock - Lance Cairns.

Aravinda de Silva named Player of the match for his  match-winning superb unbeaten 50 off 54-balls including 4-fours and took two catches.



Previous Post Next Post