India vs Pakistan 4th ODI 1987 Article

Read the article of India vs Pakistan 4th ODI 1987 - Pakistan tour of India 6-match one-day international series of the 4th ODI match played between Pakistan and India at Nehru Stadium, Pune in 20th March 1987.

Saleem Jaffar and Tauseef Ahmed's combined 5-wickets sets up to Pakistan comfortable six-wicket victory over India and took an unassailable 3-1 lead in a low-scoring game of the fourth ODI.

* PAKISTAN clinched to a six-wicket victory over India in the one-day international in Poona after their captain, Imran Khan, had hit a crucial blow by winning the toss. This match win gave Pakistan a 3-1 lead in the six-match series.

* India, sent in on a drying pitch, bundled out for 120 lost nine wickets in 42 overs. By the time Pakistan batted a strong sun had made batting a far less daunting exercise and they reached 121 for four from 37-2 overs.

* India's troubles started when Sunil Gavaskar, who was run out for seven, and Mohammad Azharuddin, bowled by off-spinner Tauseef Ahmed for duck oui, both departed with the score on 21.

* The Pakistan medium-pacer Saleem Jaffar continued India's decline by removing Dilip Vengsarkar, Raman Lamba and Sadanand Viswanath, and from 63 for six it was left to the tail-enders to give the total a measure of respectability.

* Rameez Raja and Salim Yousuf launched Pakistan's innings with a stand of 33 before Kapil Dev had Saleem Yousuf leg before wicket for 15. 

*:Rameez Raja went on to make 33, and with Javed Miandad and Imran putting on a quickfire 37, coasted home.

* Manzoor Elahi brought the match to a close with a four off Shastri. After the game the Pakistan Cricket control Board announced that Imran Khan would captain the team in the four-nation tournament in Sharjah, United Arab emirates, next month. Javed Miandad will be vice-captain.

India scored 120-9 in the alloted 42 overs with top scorer by Raman Lamba hit 27 off 62-balls including 3-fours, Ravi Shastri scored 21 off 43-balls included a four, Manoj Prabhakar 17 not out and Raju Kulkarni 15.

Pakistan best bowler by Saleem Jaffar 3-25, Tauseef Ahmed took 2-wickets and one for Abdul Qadir - Wasim Akram.

Pakistan chased 121-4 in 37.2 overs with top scorer by Ramiz Raja scored 33 off consuming 74-balls including two boundaries, Javed Miandad 22, Saleem Malik 17, Imran Khan 17 not out and Saleem Yousuf 15.

India best bowler by Kapil Dev took 2-wickets and one for Maninder Singh.

Saleem Jaffar named Player of the match for his brilliant bowling performance to picked up 3-wickets for 25-runs in 9-overs.



Previous Post Next Post