Australia vs Bangladesh 6th Match Austral-Asia Cup 1990 Article

Read the article of Australia vs Bangladesh 6th Match Austral-Asia Cup 1990 - Austral-Asia Cup six-nation one-day international tournament of the 6th ODI match first time played between Bangladesh and Australia at Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Sharjah in 30th April 1990.

Bowlers attack and Peter Taylor's all-round display gives Australia registered their historic first ODI win against Bangladesh by ease to 7-wickets in a one-sided game of the sixth match of a Austral-Asia Cup.

Bangladesh scored 134-8 in 50 overs with top scorer by Aminul Islam cracked a unbeaten 41 off 76-balls including 3-fours.

Enamul Haque hit 18 off 36-balls including 3-fours and Gazi Ashraf scored 18 off consuming 75-balls.

Australia best bowler by Steve Waugh, Peter Taylor, Simon O'Donnell each took 2-wickets and one for Merv Hughes - Greg Campbell.

Australia chased 140-3 in 25.4 overs with top scorer by Peter Taylor cracked a unbeaten 54 off 47-balls including 3-fours.

Ian Healy scored 34 off 35-balls including a boundary, Simon O'Donnell hit 20 off 37-balls included 4-fours and Dean Jones 19.

Bangladesh best bowler by Minhajul Abedin took 2-wickets and one for Gholam Nousher.

Peter Taylor named Player of the match for his match-winning all-round performance to scored a unbeaten 54 off 47-balls including three boundaries after taking two-wickets for 22-runs in 10-overs.

* Australia beat Bangladesh by seven wickets in the Austral-Asia Cup match. Bangladesh lost eight wickets for 134 off 50 overs while Australia replied with 140 for the loss of three wickets in 25.4 overs.

* Australia had already qualified for the semi-finals in which it meets Sri Lanka while New Zealand faces Pakistan in the other top four match.

* Off-spinner Peter Taylor and seamer Steve Waugh were the most successful bowlers against Bangladesh with similar figures of two for 22 in 10 overs. Simon O'Donnell also claimed two wickets with Merv Hughes and Greg Campbell sharing the others.

* Bangladesh, who won the toss and decided to bat first, lost both openers by the sixth over with just 12 runs on the board.

* Azhar Hussain, who made 54 against New Zealand, was caught behind by lan Healy off Merv Hughes for five and Healy then held Zahed Razzah in Greg Campbell's next over for four.

* Number seven Moin Islam was the highest scorer with an unbeaten 41 off 76 balls with three boundaries.



Previous Post Next Post