Sunday, August 25, 2019

West Indies vs Australia Only ODI Match in 1975

Cricket Articles - West Indies vs Australia Only ODI Match in 1975

Read the articles of West Indies vs Australia only ODI 1975 - West Indies tour of Australia only one ODI match played between West Indies and Australia at Adelaide Oval in 20th December 1975.

The West Indies World Cup Champions had their crown tilted by Australia in the one-day international at Adelaide Oval in the 20th December 1975.

Australia lost the 1975 World Cup final against West Indies in a thrilling final at Lord's in England by 17-runs victory on 21st June 1975.

But the Australians stormed back this day to gain revenge when they thrashed the World Cup Champions by five wickets and 67-balls remaining.

The colourful West Indians folded in the face of a tight Australian attack and some blazing batting by Ian Chappell smashed 63-runs off facing 105 deliveries included eight 4s and two 6s.

Greg Chappell hit 59 knock of faced 82-balls included six boundaries and Australian opener Alan Turner scored a tremendous 46 off just 56-deliveries including eight boundaries.

Ian Chappell gave the tourists a taste of their own Calypso Cricket in pounding his way to the title of Player of the Match.

Vivian Richards top scorer for the West Indies with a Delightful knock of 74 off facing 87 deliveries in the 123 minutes included seven 4s and one six, Roy Fredericks scored a 21-run with run a ball and Gordon Greenidge scoring fabulous 41 off 63 deliveries.

But Chappell brothers contribution was a far more valuable one after Australia's opening batsman Rick McCosker had dismissed for a (Duck) caught out by Deryck Murray off Vanburn Holder.

The West Indies surprised the crowd of more than 14000 by losing all ten wickets for scoring the 224 runs in the 37.6 overs.

Australia proved themselves adaptable by hammering the winning runs in just under three hours and just facing 31.5 overs.

Australia Right-arm fast-medium bowler Max Walker picked up 4-19 in 6.6 overs, Gary Gilmour - Greg Chappell both took 2-2 and Dennis Lillee and Gary Cosier took 1-1 wickets.

This modified Article reference from ( T.S.M.H ) Author by Brian Mossop