Australia vs Sri Lanka 1st T20I 2022 Highlights

Watch the highlights of Australia vs Sri Lanka 1st T20I 2022 - Sri Lanka tour of Australia 5-match Twenty20 international series of the 1st T20I match played between Sri Lanka and Australia at Sydney Cricket Ground, Melbourne in 11th February 2022.

Australia vs Sri Lanka 1st T20I 2022 HighlightsAustralia vs Sri Lanka 1st T20I 2022
Adam Zampa again had an impact with the ball © Getty Images

Ben McDermott's maiden half-century and Marcus Stoinis' assault before Josh Hazlewood's four-for and Adam Zampa's three-for helped to Australia cruising to via DLS method 20-run victory over Sri Lanka and take a 1-0 lead in the first T20I.

Match Stats : 
  • Australia's 20-run win was their smallest victory by terms of runs against Sri Lanka in T20 internationals, previous narrowest win by 41-runs at Adelaide in 2017.
  • Australia's 149 was their joint fourth lowest score in the completed innings against Sri Lanka in T20 internationals.
  • 50 : Ben McDermott and Josh Inglis set up the fourth highest second-wicket partnership for Australia against Sri Lanka in T20 internationals.
  • Josh Hazlewood's 4 for 12 was the sixth best bowling figures for Australia in T20 international and the best bowling figures by an Australian bowler against Sri Lanka in T20Is, surpassing the previous record of 4 for 20 held by Stuart Clark at Cape Town in 2002.
  • Sri Lanka's 122 was their fifth lowest score against Australia in T20 internationals.

Australia scored 149-9 in 20 overs with top scorer by Ben McDermott struck 53 off 41-balls including 3-sixes & 2-fours.

Marcus Stoinis hammered a 30 off 17-balls including 2-sixes & 2-fours with strike rate of 176.47 and Debutant Josh Inglis - who scored 23 off 18-balls included 3-fours.

Sri Lanka best bowler by Wanindu Hasaranga picked up 3-wickets, Binura Fernando, Chamika Karunaratne and Dushmantha Chameera each took 2-wickets.

Sri Lanka scored 122-8 in 19 overs - due to rain revised DLS target of 143 from 19-overs - with top scorer by Pathum Nissanka struck 36 off 37-balls including 5-fours & a six.

Dinesh Chandimal cracked a unbeaten 25 off 16-balls including 3-fours & a six with strike rate of 156.25 and Charith Asalanka 16.

Australia best bowler by Josh Hazlewood claimed a career-best 4-wickete for 12-runs in 4-overs, Adam Zampa 3-18 and Par Cummins took one-wicket.

Adam Zampa named Player of the match for his brilliant bowling performance to picked up 3-wickets for 18-runs in 4-overs.

Copyright - Third Party Reference Inline Linking Embedded Video from


Previous Post Next Post