India vs England 3rd ODI 1982 Article

Read the article of India vs England 3rd ODI 1982 - England tour of India 3-match one-day international series of the 3rd ODI match played between England and India at Barabati Stadium, Cuttack in 27th January 1982.

Sunil Gavaskar, Sandeep Patil's fifties before An superb unbeaten 47-run stand for the sixth-wicket between Yashpal Sharma and debutant Ashok Malhotra helped to India resounding five-wicket victory over England and clinch the their historic first-ever bilateral ODI series win by 2-1 in a series-decider game of the third ODI

Match Stats : 
  • This is the India's first-ever bilateral ODI series win.
  • India chased 231 was their highest successful run-chase in One-day international cricket history, previous highest chase was 162 against same opponent in the series' second ODI.
  • Barabati Stadium, Cuttack became the 3rd Indian venue to host a One-day international match and the 30th venue in the world to host a ODI match.
  • India's 231 was their second highest score in One-day international and also It is their second highest total against England in ODIs.
  • England's 230 was their third highest score against India in One-day internationals.

England scored 230-6 in the alloted 46 overs with top scorer by Keith Fletcher hammered a 69 off 52-balls including 4-sixes & 4-fours with strike rate of 132.69.

Ian Botham cracked a run-a-ball 52-runs including 5-fours & 2-sixes, David Gower struck 42 off 59-balls included 4-fours and Geoff Cook hit 30 off 75-balls including two boundaries.

India best bowler by Sandeep Patil, Madan Lal both took 2-wickets and one for Ravi Shastri - Suru Nayak.

India chased 231-5 in 42 overs with top scorer by Sunil Gavaskar struck 71 off 87-balls.

Sandeep Patil hammered a 64 off 55-balls including 7-fours with strike rate of 116.36, Yashpal Sharma scored a unbeaten 34 off 48-balls included 3-fours.

Debutant Ashok Malhotra - who scored a unbeaten 28 off 24-balls on his debut ODI match - including 3-fours.

England best bowler by Derek Underwood picked up 3-wickets and one for Graham Gooch - Ian Botham.

Sunil Gavaskar named Player of the match for his match-winning superb 71-runs knocked off facing 87-balls including 10-fours.



Previous Post Next Post