Pakistan vs Sri Lanka 2nd ODI 1982 Article

Read the article of Pakistan vs Sri Lanka 2nd ODI 1982 - Sri Lanka tour of Pakistan 3-match one-day international series of the 2nd ODI match played between Sri Lanka and Pakistan at Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore in 29th March 1982.

Roy Dias' whirlwind 59-ball 81 and Duleep Mendis' half-century sets up to Sri Lanka registered their historic first ODI win against Pakistan, despite a Zaheer Abbas' record-breaking 87-ball 123 on fastest-run-rate in the second ODI.

Match Stats :
  • This is the Sri Lanka's first-ever ODI win in Pakistan.
  • Zaheer Abbas became the first Pakistan batsman to score two centuries in One-day internationals.
  • Zaheer Abbas became the first Pakistan batsman to score a century against Sri Lanka in One-day international cricket history.
  • Zaheer Abbas became the first player to score a century in Pakistan soil in ODI cricket history.
  • Zaheer Abbas's 123 was the highest score for Pakistan in One-day international, surpassing the previous record of unbeaten 109 held by Majid Khan against England at Nottingham in 1974.

Sri Lanka gained the first victory of their six-match tour when they beat Pakistan on fastest run rate in the second One-day international.

Sri Lanka made light of the challenge of scoring at an average of exactly six an over after Pakistan scored 239 for four in their quota of 40-overs

The touring side were coating to an outright victory in their penultimate game at 227 for four when bad light ended play after 33 overs.

The match was decided by the scores after 20 overs, at which stage Pakistan were 95 for three and Sri Lanka 126 for two.

Pakistan scored 239-4 in the alloted 40 overs with top scorer by Zaheer Abbas hammered a 123 off 87-balls - which was his 2nd ODI hundred & his first century against Sri Lanka in ODIs.

Haroon Rasheed struck 63 off 72-balls with strike rate of 87.50 and Mudassar Nazar scored 27 off 57-balls.

Sri Lanka best bowler by Ravi Ratnayeke and Somachandra De Silva both took one-wickets.

Sri Lanka scored 227-4 in 33 overs with top scorer by Roy Dias blasted a 81 off 59-balls.

Duleep Mendis hammered a 52 off 46-balls including 6-fours & a six, Ranjan Madugalle cracked a unbeaten 36 off 27-balls included 5-fours and Sidath Wettimuny scored 32 off 35-balls.

Pakistan best bowler by Mudassar Nazar took 2-wickets and one for Sikander Bhakht - Tahir Naqqash.

Roy Dias named Player of the match for his match-winning whirlwind 81-runs knocked off facing 59-balls including 12-fours.



Previous Post Next Post