India vs Sri Lanka 4th ODI 1986-87 Article

Read the article of India vs Sri Lanka 4th ODI 1986-87 - Sri Lanka tour of India 5-match one-day international series of the 4th ODI match played between Sri Lanka and India at Moti Bagh Stadium, Baroda in 15th January 1987.

Half-centuries from openers Kris Srikkanth and Sunil Gavaskar before Spinners Ravi Shastri and Shivlal Yadav's combined 5-wickets helped to India's record 94-run victory over Sri Lanka, despite a Graeme Labrooy's maiden five-for and took an unassailable 3-1 lead to clinch the five-match series in the fourth ODI.

Match Stats : 
  • India's 94-run win was their second largest victory by terms of runs in One-day international and It is their biggest win against Sri Lanka in ODIs, previous biggest win by 78-runs at Amritsar in 1982.
  • Graeme Labrooy became the first Sri Lankan bowler to take a five-wicket haul against India in One-day international cricket history.
  • Graeme Labrooy became the third Sri Lankan bowler to claimed a five-wicket haul in ODIs after Ashantha de Mel and Uvaisul Karnain.

* India's Trio of spin bowlers clinched victory in the one-day international series against Sri Lanka, taking six wickets as the India celebrated a record 94-run win in the fourth ODI at Baroda, of the five-match series.

* India, set a target of 236 in 43 overs, Sri Lanka could only muster 141 for nine in 36.3 overs as Shivlal Yadav, Maninder Singh and Ravi Shastri tore through the middle order. India's win puts them 3-1 lead in the series.

* Openers Kris Srikkanth and Sunil Gavaskar began a savage assault on the Sri Lankan bowlers after Duleep Mendis won the toss and decided to India bat first.

* Kris Srikkanth, capitalising on a first over reprieve when wicketkeeper Guy de Alwis droped him, dominated the opening stand if 96 runs in 18.1 overs.

* Kris Srikkanth produced a six and seven four in his 63 on a grassy wicket, Sunil Gavaskar hit a sedate 69 before medium pacer Graeme Labrooy had a fiery seven-over spell to send back five Indian batsmen.

India scored 235-8 in the alloted 43 overs with top scorer by Sunil Gavaskar hit 69 off 94-balls, Kris Srikkanth scored a run-a-ball 63-runs including 7-fours & a six.

Raman Lamba, Dilip Vengsarkar each scored 22-runs and Ravi Shastri 20.

Sri Lanka best bowler by Graeme Labrooy  claimed a career-best 5-wickets for 57-runs in 10-overs, Don Anurasiri took 2-wickets and one for Ravi Ratnayeke.

Sri Lanka scored 141 for all-out in 36.3 overs with top scorer by Asanka Gurusinha scored 26 off 62-balls, Roshan Mahanama hit 25 off 38-balls, Duleep Mendis 21 and Arjuna Ranatunga 20.

India best bowler by Ravi Shastri picked up 3-wickets for 24-runs in 5-overs including a maiden, Shivlal Yadav captured two-wickets, Kris Srikkanth, Raju Kulkarni and Maninder Singh each took one-wickets.

Sunil Gavaskar named Player of the match for his classy 69 off facing 94-balls.



Previous Post Next Post