India vs Sri Lanka 1st Match Sharjah Cup 1988 Article

Read the article of India vs Sri Lanka 1st Match Sharjah Cup 1988 - Sharjah Cup three-nation one-day international tournament of the 1st ODI match played between Sri Lanka and India at Sharjah Cricket Association Stadium, Sharjah in 25th March 1988.

Kapil Dev, Arshad Ayub, Chetan Sharma and spinners Ravi Shastri and Narendra Hirwani guided India narrow 18-run victory over Sri Lanka, despite a fighting innings from Aravinda de Silva's classy 88 in the opening match of a Sharjah Cup.

India scored 219-8 in 50 overs with top scorer by Kapil Dev blasted a 48 off 43-balls - who fell two-run short of his half-century - including 3-fours & 2-sixes with strike rate of 111.62.

Kris Srikkanth cracked a 32 off 38-balls including 3-fours & a six, Arshad Ayub hit a unbeaten 31 off 43-balls included 2-fours, Ravi Shastri scored 26 off 40-balls contained a six, Woorkeri Raman 21 and Navjot Sidhu 17.

Sri Lanka best bowler by Aravinda de Silva, Champaka Ramanayake and Ravi Ratnayeke each took 2-wickets.

Sri Lanka scored 201 for all-out in 49.2 overs with top scorer by Aravinda de Silva cracked a 88 off 100-balls, Roshan Mahanama scored 51 off 124-balls including a four and Champaka Ramanayake 11.

India best bowler by Narendra Hirwani, Ravi Shastri both took 2-wickets and one for Chetan Sharma - Kapil Dev.

Aravinda de Silva named Player of the match for his brilliant fighting innings of 88-runs knocked off facing exact 100-balls including three boundaries.



Previous Post Next Post