New Zealand vs India 1st Match Rothmans Cup 1990 Highlights

Watch the highlights of New Zealand vs India 1st Match Rothmans Cup 1990 - Rothmans Cup triangular one-day international tournament of the 1st ODI match played between India and New Zealand at Carisbrook, Dunedin in 01st March 1990.

Opener Martin Crowe's brilliant century and A superb unbeaten 78 by Ken Rutherford before Three-wicket hauls from Shane Thomson and Danny Morrison helped to New Zealand's record 108-run victory over India in a one-sided game of the opening match of a Rothmans Cup triangular series.

Match Stats : 
  • New Zealand's 108-run win was their fifth largest victory by terms of runs in One-day international and It is their biggest win against India in ODIs, previous biggest win by 80-runs at Auckland in 1976.
  • Martin Crowe became the second New Zealand batsman to score a century against India in ODIs after Glenn Turner.
  • Martin Crowe became the second New Zealand batsman to scored two centuries in One-day internationals after Glenn Turner's 3-hundreds.

New Zealand scored 246-6 in the allotted 47 overs with top scorer by Martin Crowe cracked a 104 off 135-balls - which was his 2nd ODI hundred and his first century against India in ODIs.

Ken Rutherford hit a unbeaten 78 off 75-balls including 5-fours & a six and John Wright scored 23 off 44-balls included 3-fours.

India best bowler by Debutant Atul Wassan - who picked up 3-wickets for 45-runs in 10-overs on his debut ODI match, Manoj Prabhakar took 2-wickets and one for Kapil Dev.

India bundled out for 138 in 32.1 overs with top scorer by Woorkeri Raman cracked a 32 off 38-balls including 5-fours.

Kiran More hit a unbeaten 23 off 38-balls including one-six & a six and Debutant Atul Wassan - who scored 16 off 24-balls on his debut ODI match.

New Zealand best bowler by Shane Thomson picked up 3-wickets for 19-runs in 6-overs including a maiden, Danny Morrison captured three-wickets for 43-runs in 8.1-overs included two maidens, Gavin Larsen and Martin Snedden took one-wicket.

This match reported by REUTERS via The Canberra Times

New Zealand: New Zealand ended a run of 11 successive losses against India in one-day cricket today with a decisive win anchored by opening batsman Martin Crowe.

Crowe scored only his second century in 83 one-day internationals to help New Zealand to a 108-run victory in the first match of a triangular series also including Australia.

New Zealand scored 6-246 in an innings shortened to 47 overs after a late start to allow Dunedin's Carisbrook Ground outfield to dry from overnight rain.

Crowe, voted man of the match for his 104, partnered Ken Rutherford in a 152-run fourth-wicket stand, a New Zealand record for one-day cricket.

Set a rate of more than five runs an over to win, India tumbled to 6-65 by the 13th over and the New Zealand attack finally dispatched the tourists for 138.

Apart from Workeri Raman, who put on some quick early runs, none of the Indian batsmen had the sort of grit shown by Crowe.

Moved up the order to open the batting, Crowe made his 104 from 135 deliveries, including six fours and a six. He came together with Rutherford when New Zealand were struggling at 3-66. Rutherford hit an attractive unbeaten 78 off 75 balls.

Indian pace bowler Atul Wasson picked up the wickets of captain John Wright and Andrew Jones off successive balls when the New Zealand score was 38. Mark Greatbatch became Wasson's third victim when he was caught by Ajay Sharma for 13.

The New Zealand attack, with three debutant seamers, Shane Thomson, Stu Roberts and Gavin Larsen, bowled consistently.

The bowlers were well supported in the field with Greatbatch and Wright coming up with athletic slip catches to dismiss captain Mohammed Azharuddin for 12 and opener Raman for 32.

Morrison took quick wickets with the new ball while Thomson and Larsen struck in their first overs to send India reeling. Their later recovery was only marginal as the team had fallen well behind the asking rate.

Morrison and Thomson were the home side's most successful bowlers with three wickets each. Thomson went one better in creating a run out dismissal of non-striker Manoj Prabhakar.



Previous Post Next Post