Australia vs Sri Lanka 2nd Semi-final Austral-Asia Cup 1990 Article

Read the article of Australia vs Sri Lanka 2nd Semi-final Austral-Asia Cup 1990 - Austral-Asia Cup six-nation one-day international tournament of the second semi-final played between Sri Lanka and Australia at Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Sharjah in 02nd May 1990.

Dean Jones' classy century, Geoff Marsh's steady half-century and Simon O'Donnell's power-hitting 29-ball 74 sets up to Australia resounding 114-run victory over Sri Lanka and qualify for the final in a one-sided game of the second final of a Austral-Asia Cup.

Match Stats : 
  • Australia's 114-run win was their fifth largest victory by terms of runs in One-day international and It is their second biggest win against Sri Lanka in ODIs after their biggest win also against Sri Lanka at Adelaide in 1985.
  • Dean Jones became the second Australian batsman to scored six centuries in One-day internationals after Geoff Marsh's 7-hundreds.
  • Dean Jones became the fourth Australian batsman to score a century against Sri Lanka in ODIs after Alan Turner, Allan Border and David Boon.
  • Australia's 332 was their highest score in One-day internationals, previous highest was 328 also against Sri Lanka at The Oval in the 1975 World Cup.
  • Simon O'Donnell hammered a 18-ball fastest fifty ever in One-day international cricket history, surpassing the previous record of 21-ball half-century held by Lance Cairns against Australia at Melbourne in 1983.

Australia scored mammoth total of 332-3 in 50 overs with top scorer by Dean Jones hit a unbeaten 117 off 123-balls - which was his 6th ODI hundred and his first century against Sri Lanka in ODIs - including 7-fours & a six.

Simon O'Donnell hammered a 74 off 29-balls including 6-sixes & 4-fours with strike rate of 255.17, Geoff Marsh cracked a 68 off 104-balls included 3-fours & a six.

David Boon blasted a 30 off 18-balls including one-six & a four and Mark Taylor scored 27 off 30-balls included 3-fours.

Sri Lanka best bowler by Ranjith Madurasinghe, Ravi Ratnayeke and Champaka Ramanayake each took one-wickets.

Sri Lanka scored 218 for all-out in 45.4 overs with top scorer by Hashan Tillakaratne hit a 76 off 109-balls including 5-fours.

Arjuna Ranatunga scored 26 off 32-balls including a boundary, Athula Samarasekera struck 25 off 26-balls included 4-fours, Aravinda de Silva and Champaka Ramanayake each scored 19-runs.

Australia best bowler by Peter Taylor, Terry Alderman, Allan Border each took 2-wickets and one for Simon O'Donnell - Steve Waugh.



Previous Post Next Post