New Zealand vs Bangladesh 4th Match Austral-Asia Cup 1990 Article

Read the article of New Zealand vs Bangladesh 4th Match Austral-Asia Cup 1990 - Austral-Asia Cup six-nation one-day international tournament of the 4th ODI match first time played between Bangladesh and New Zealand at Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Sharjah in 28th April 1990.

Andrew Jones' superb 93, John Wright's classy 93 and Martin Crowe's half-century sets up to New Zealand registered their historic first ODI win against Bangladesh by resounding 161-runs and qualified for the semi-finals in a one-sided game of the fourth match of a Austral-Asia Cup.

Match Stats : 
  • New Zealand's 161-run win was their third largest victory by terms of runs in One-day internationals.
  • New Zealand's 338 was their highest score ever in One-day international cricket history, surpassing the previous highest was 309 against East Africa at Birmingham in the inaugural 1975 World Cup and the joint second highest total in ODIs, jointly with Pakistan's 338 against Sri Lanka at Swansea in the 1983 World Cup.
  • 158 : Martin Crowe and John Wright set up the record first-wicket partnership for New Zealand in One-day international, previously held by the 152-run stand between Glenn Turner and Bruce Edgar against England at Wellington in 1983 and It is the New Zealand's third highest any-wicket stand in ODIs.

New Zealand scored mammoth total of 338-4 in 50 overs with top scorer by Andrew Jones hammered a 93 off 72-balls - who fell seven-run short of his century.

John Wright hit 93 off 98-balls including 8-fours, Martin Crowe cracked a 69 off 71-balls included 2-fours & a six.

Mark Greatbatch struck 32 off 42-balls including 2-fours & a six and Ken Rutherford blasted a unbeaten 30 off 22-balls included 2-fours with strike rate of 136.36.

Bangladesh best bowler by Minhajul Abedin took 2-wickets and one for Golam Faruq - Gholam Nousher.

Bangladesh scored 177-5 in 50 overs with top scorer by Azhar Hossain cracked a 54 off 126-balls including 4-fours.

Akram Khan hit 33 off 48-balls including 3-fours, Aminul Islam cracked a unbeaten 30 off 41-balls included 4-fours and Minhaj Abedin scored 18 off 22-balls contained 2-fours.

New Zealand best bowler by Jonathan Millmow captured two-wickets, Ken Rutherford, Martin Snedden and John Bracewell each took one-wickets.

Andrew Jones named Player of the match for his scintillating 93-runs knocked off facing 72-balls including 4-fours & 2-sixes with strike rate of 129.16.



Previous Post Next Post