New Zealand vs India 2nd ODI 1976 Article

Read the articles of New Zealand vs India 2nd ODI 1976 - India tour of New Zealand 2-match one-day international series of the 2nd ODI match played between India and New Zealand at Eden Park, Auckland in 22nd February 1976.

Glenn Turner's half-century, Thirtees from Jock Edwards, Lance Cairns, Mark Burgess and Ken Wadsworth's superb unbeaten 46 before Bowlers delivered to New Zealand thumping 80-run victory over India and clinch the their historic first two-match series 2-0 whitewash in a another one-sided game of the second ODI.

Match Stats :
  • New Zealand's 80-run win was their second largest victory by terms of runs in One-day internationals.
  • This is the first time New Zealand have whitewashed their oppositions in a bilateral two-match series in One-day international
  • New Zealand's 236 was their second highest score in One-day international and It is their highest total against India in ODIs, previous highest was 233 at Manchester in the inaugural 1975 World Cup.
  • India's 154 was their third lowest score in the completed innings in One-day internationals.
  • 71 : Glenn Turner and Jock Edwards set up the seventh highest any-wicket partnership for New Zealand in One-day internationals.

New Zealand scored 236-8 in 35 overs with top scorer by Glenn Turner struck 52 off 63-balls including 6-fours, Ken Wadsworth 46 not out.

Mark Burgess blasted a 38 off 31-balls including 4-fours & a six with strike rate of 122.58, Jock Edwards scored 32 off 42-balls included 4-fours and Lance Cairns cracked a 31 off 42-balls with two sixes.

India best bowler by Debutant Bhagwath Chandrasekhar picked up 3-wickets for 36-runs in 7-overs on his debut ODI match, Eknath Solkar both took 2-wickets and one for Srinivas Venkataraghavan - Mohinder Amarnath.

India scored 156 for all-out in 31.6 overs with top scorer by Brijesh Patel struck 44 off 51-balls including 5-fours & a six.

Dilip Vengsarkar scored 43 off 54-balls including 8-fours and Parthasarthi Sharma 14.

New Zealand best bowler by Dayle Hadlee took 2-wickets, Jock Edwards, Mark Burgess, John Parker, Brian McKechnie, Lance Cairns and Richard Hadlee each took one-wickets.

Ken Wadsworth named Player of the match for his superb unbeaten 46 off 56-balls including 4-fours and 2-sixes.



Previous Post Next Post