India vs Sri Lanka 1st T20I 2009 Highlights

Cricket Highlights - India vs Sri Lanka 1st T20I 2009

Watch the highlights of India vs Sri Lanka 1st T20I 2009 - Sri Lanka tour of India 2-match Twenty20 international series of the 1st T20I match played between Sri Lanka and India at Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium, Jamtha, Nagpur in 09th December 2009.

India vs Sri Lanka 1st T20I 2009 Highlights
Kumar Sangakkara hits a six over mid-wicket © AFP

Kumar Sangakkara's record-eqaul fifty and Chamara Kapugedera's 20-ball 47 sets up to Sri Lanka comprehensive 29-run victory over India, despite a Gautam Gambhir's 19-ball fifty and take a 1-0 lead in a high-scoring game of the first T20I.

Copyright - Third Party Reference Inline Linking Embedded Video from BCCI

* 401 : This was the joint third highest aggregate match in T20 internationals, jointly 401 between England vs West Indies at The Oval in 2007 and it is the highest between India and Sri Lanka in T20Is.

* Kumar Sangakkara equalled a 21-ball joint fifth fastest fifty in T20 internationals, jointly 21-ball half-century held by Mahela Jayawardene against Kenya at Johannesburg in the 2007 World Twenty20.

* Kumar Sangakkara equalled a 21-ball joint fastest fifty by an Sri Lankan batsman in T20 internationals, jointly with Mahela Jayawardene.

* Gautam Gambhir equalled a 19-ball joint second fastest fifty in T20 internationals, jointly 19-ball half century held by David Warner against South Africa at Melbourne in 2009.

* Gautam Gambhir hammered a 19-ball second fastest fifty by an Indian batsman in T20 internationals after Yuvraj Singh (12).

* Sri Lanka's 215 was their second highest score in T20 international and it is their highest total against India in T20Is.

Sri Lanka scored mammoth total of 215-5 in 20 overs with top scorer by Kumar Sangakkara 78, Chamara Kapugedera blasted a 47 off 20-balls including 7-fours & a six with strike rate of 235.

Tillakaratne Dilshan struck 34 off 33-balls included 5-fours, Sanath Jayasuriya 26 and Angelo Mathews 15 not out.

India best bowler by Rohit Sharma, Yusuf Pathan both takes one-wickets, debutants Ashish Nehra and Ashok Dinda each took one-wickets on their debut T20I match.

India scored 186-9 in 20 overs with top scorer by Gautam Gambhir blasted a 55 off 26-balls including 11-fours with strike rate of 211.53, Virender Sehwag cracked a 26 off 14-balls included 3-fours & a six with strike-rate of 185.71.

Ashish Nehra hit 22 off 13-balls including 2-sixes & a fours with strike rate of 169.23, Suresh Raina struck 21 off 13-balls included one-four & a six with strike-rate of 161.53 and Ashok Dinda 19.

Sri Lanka best bowler by Sanath Jayasuriya, Angelo Mathews both takes two-wickets, Tillakaratne Dilshan, NuwanKulasekara each took one-wickets and debutant Muthumudalige Pushpakumara - who took one-wicket on his debut T20I match.

Kumar Sangakkara named Player of the match for his career-best scintillating 78-runs knocked off facing 37-balls including 11-fours and 2-sixes with strike rate of 210.81.